Seven Soup Sunday – Soup 1 – Curried Leftover Squash Soup

We signed up for a CSA.  To say it is abundant is an understatement.  I am actually having a hard time keeping up with the vegetables, and I’ve still got carrots left over from the summer share and it’s now All Squash All the Time season.

Last weekend we had a glorious visit from my old friends, Arlene and Doug.  They are the best kind of houseguest, because we did not do one interesting thing all weekend, and they still pretended they’d had a good time.  When I woke up Sunday and said “I kind of feel like cooking because I have a LOT of produce” they said HECK yeah.  Arlene made some delicious cauliflower mac and cheese which was lucky because I had three weeks’ worth of cauliflower that I couldn’t decide what to do with, and we roasted some squash and I made squash ravioli and I made my first ever pumpkin pie from scratch and roasted vegetables and a bread pudding just for the hell of it with a bourbon sauce that I pretty much just want to put on everything from this day forward in perpetuity.

Scott and I ate all week.  So, I’m thinking – I wonder if I can just cook once a week and not waste the abundance of the CSA.

This morning I got up and started chopping and this is what I’ve come up with first.  There was leftover roasted squash and there is also squash this week so I have to think of something to do.

Curried Leftover Squash Soup.  

  • 1 Onion
  • 2 Carrots
  • 1 stalk of celery
  • 1 apple
  • 2ish cups of leftover roasted winter squash maybe more I have no idea how much squash I had (this is a mixture of acorn and delicata)
  • Some oil for sautéing
  • 2 T curry powder
  • If you’re feeling a little naughty, 1/4 c of maple bourbon or 1/4 c of bourbon and a T of maple syrup or 2 T maple syrup or just leave this out if you feel like it.
  • 4 C stock
  1. If you don’t have leftover squash cut up a couple of squashes and roast them at 450 for about an hour with some olive oil or you can just buy the frozen kind which I think comes in 10 oz packages so I’d use 4 or 5 of them.
  2. Chop up the onion, apple, carrots and celery.
  3. Heat the olive oil, (on a six or 7 on my electric stove, which goes to ten) add the onion, sauté for a couple of minutes, then add the celery and sauté that for a couple of minutes, and then add the carrots and sauté that for a couple of minutes, then the apple, and add the curry powder.  (there may be another, better order to do this in.  Maybe make a mirepoix and sauté that and then add the apple, but I just threw stuff in as I finished chopping it).  Add the roasted squash (not in cubes, just in mush form) and stir the whole thing up until it looks disgusting.  Add the bourbon and maple syrup if you’re going to.
  4. Add the stock and stir until it doesn’t look disgusting anymore.
  5. Bring it to a boil. (or, if you prefer to be old timey about it, to the boil) with the heat on high, and covered.
  6. Reduce the heat to a 3 or a four, and simmer for about an hour.  Once the carrots are squishy, you’re probably in pretty good shape.
  7. Then you can blend it with an immersion blender if you want, or a regular blender, or a food processor, if you want to make a huge mess, or you can just leave it as it is.  I don’t care.  If you’re using the stove, I’m going to assume you’re an adult.  Don’t let me tell you what to do.

I’m going to put this in the refrigerator.  When I serve it, I’m going to put a bloop of goat cheese on it.  Or if I’m feeling fancy, I’ll make a paneer, but the likelihood of me feeling cheese making fancy on a work day is basically nil, so forget it.

Leave a Reply

