Seven Soup Sunday – Soup 6 – Taco Night Taco Soup – Just be you.

It has been harder than you’d think to come up with seven soups, and I came up with seven and then remembered I’d promised Scott French Onion Soup and I bounced some sort of something with potatoes soup off the list to be dealt with next Sunday.

Around the time I thought of the tomato croutons for the cheese soup I started wondering what other weirdo things I could do, and then I thought of the Moroccan carrots and the sausage and peppers and whatnot.  And then I thought – “A taco is kind of a sandwich.  I could make taco soup.”  A word to the wise.  When you think you’re inventing stuff, don’t google it.  Everything’s already been invented.  (Seriously – one time, I thought “A really good t-shirt would be WWSD – ‘What Would Scooby Do'” and then I googled it and my week was ruined.)  Just do your own thing, and there will probably be some overlap, there being six or seven billion people on the planet and whatnot.  You just be you, you weird, wonderful little human, you. There are taco soup recipes out there and I just ignored them and did my own thing.

Of course, a couple of steps in, I turned to Scott, and said, “You know what I just realized another good name for taco soup would be?  Chili.”  Dammit.

Anyway – this supposed to be reminiscent of the tacos my mom used to make, ground beef, onion, lettuce, tomato and cheese on a crispy, Old El Paso taco shell.  Nothing fancy.  (No mirepoix, no roux, and a bunch of cans).

Taco Night Taco Soup

  • 2 Onions, sliced
  • 1 pound ground beef
  • Olive oil
  • A BUNCH of Cumin.  I may have used 3 Tablespoons…
  • Chili Powder (just admit this is kind of chili) about maybe a tablespoon(?)
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 bag of frozen corn
  • 1 28 oz can diced tomatoes, drained
  • 2 cans of black beans, not drained
  • 1 can of Medium enchilada sauce
  • 4 c. beef stock (note: Not Vegan)
  1. Slice the onions and sauté them in the oil.  Add the ground beef and a bunch of cumin and the chili powder and salt and brown the beef.
  2. Throw in the corn, tomatoes, black beans, and enchilada sauce – Stir it up.
  3. Add the stock, taste and correct the seasonings.
  4. Bring it to a boil, and then reduce it to a simmer.
  5. While it’s cooking take out 4 soft corn tortillas, and cut them into 1/8ths.  Preheat the oven to 350.  Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray, lay the tortilla pieces into the pan tightly, and spray the top of the tortillas with cooking spray.  Bake for about 6 or 7 minutes until they’re crispy.
  6. Serve the soup with some shredded cheese, the tortilla chips, some shredded lettuce, and sour cream and avocado if you have them.  I don’t, and this is dinner tonight, and I’m sad.

Be thankful for a dude who loves you, even when you invent something and then realize you’ve invented chili.

Leave a Reply

